Hunter-Reay joins Ganassi Cadillac line-up for Sebring


Hunter-Reay and van der Zande teamed with Jordan Taylor in the #10 Wayne Taylor Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R to win the 2018 Petit Le Mans, finish second in the 12 Hours of Sebring and earned pole at Rolex 24 At Daytona.

Hunter-Reay, the 2012 IndyCar champion and 2014 Indy 500 winner, is without a full-time open-wheel ride for 2022.

“It’s beyond belief that Ryan Hunter-Reay is available to be a Cadillac teammate at Sebring,” said Chip Ganassi Racing’s managing director Mike Hull. “Chip Ganassi Racing has admired his ability to consistently win major globally recognized events. He has that special knack to be a separator.

“We’re excited that Ryan’s an integral part of our team at the Twelve Hours of Sebring.”

Hunter-Reay, who also won the 2020 Twelve Hours of Sebring with Mazda, said: “I’m thrilled to be joining Chip Ganassi Racing and returning to Cadillac for the 70th running of the Twelve Hours of Sebring.

“This is a tremendous opportunity to work with one of the very best teams and manufacturers in motorsports. Sebring is my home track, and the Twelve Hours of Sebring is one of those iconic events that you focus on as a competitor. After winning the 2020 race overall, I’ve been eager to get back with a top team and compete for another win.”

Cadillac has won three of the five 12-hour races at Sebring International Raceway in DPi competition dating to 2017.

Today’s announcement completes Ganassi’s line-up for Sebring, as Kevin Magnussen will share driving duties with Earl Bamber and Alex Lynn in Ganassi’s #02 Cadillac Accessories entry.

It also confirms that the three IndyCar aces that Ganassi transferred to its IMSA squad for the Rolex 24 Hours – Scott Dixon, Alex Palou, Marcus Ericsson – will not be attempting double-duty that weekend. While the 12 Hours is held on Saturday, the second round of the NTT IndyCar Series is being run at Texas Motor Speedway on Sunday.

…Read more.

F1 Racing 30 day news updates.

We use income earning auto affiliate links. More on Sponsored links.

Related Posts


Le Mans 24 Hours will be Penske’s final LMP2 entry this year

The Penske Oreca, driven by Dane Cameron, Felipe Nasr and Emmanuel Collard, finished eighth in class in the Sebring 1000-mile race, and fourth in class in the Spa 6-hour race….

Read more

Peugeot reveals final 9X8 WEC Hypercar, Rossiter in for Monza

Rossiter, who was initially signed as a test driver, has been promoted to the race seat for the 6 Hours of Monza following original signing Magnussen’s surprise return to Formula…

Read more

Kenta Yamashita doesn’t fear Rookie Toyota slump

After the opening two rounds of the championship Yamashita and Kazuya Oshima hold a five-point lead at the head of the standings over Kunimitsu Honda pair Naoki Yamamoto and Tadasuke…

Read more

Fuji 450km SUPER GT – schedule, how to watch, entry list

Fuji has been a Toyota stronghold for the past couple of seasons, with the Shizuoka Prefecture track’s kilometre-long main straight playing to the strengths of the slippery, low-drag GR Supra…

Read more

NASCAR Le Mans entry evoked fairness concerns by Toyota, Ford

In March, NASCAR announced it planned to take its new Next Gen stock car, which debuted in the Cup Series this season, to the Le Mans 24 Hours as a…

Read more

Taylor/Albuquerque win after fierce Acura duel

Starting from pole, Ricky Taylor’s Wayne Taylor Racing Acura led from Oliver Jarvis in Meyer Shank Racing’s Acura ARX-05, who just fended off a strong first-corner attack from Alex Lynn…

Read more

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.